Back to All Events

2016 Fall Colors Open Studios Art Tour


The Center for the Arts presents
Fall Colors Open Studios Art Tour of Nevada County
October 8-9, and 15-16, 10:AM to 5:00PM
Open House Preview Event: Thursday, October 6, 6:00 to 9:00PM
#fallcolorsopenstudios

Print version available at:
The Center for the Arts, Artworks Gallery, ASiF Studios, Briar Patch Co-op, GV & NC Chambers, The Alexander Gallery, SummerThymes, The Artist Workshop


Meet the artists, view their work, plan your tour, buy art, preview upcoming shows, youth workshops, and support The Center for the Arts and our community . The Center is located at 314 West Main Street in downtown Grass Valley.

Visit 70+ local artists in 46 studios this October and see where art is made, displayed, and appreciated in Nevada County. The tour features painters, printmakers, photographers, ceramicists, illustrators, jewelers, designers, woodworkers and more. You will have the opportunity to meet the artists, view new work, and buy original art in a wide range of media & styles. See their workspace, watch live demonstrations, observe works in progress and learn about an art process from concept to completion.  Beyond an art sale, Open Studios is a chance to experience first-hand how, where and why art is created.

Start your tour at The Center for the Arts preview exhibit October 8-18 artist reception Thursday, October 8, 6 – 9PM. The Open House is free and open to all ages. Meet the artists, view their work, plan your tour, buy art, preview upcoming shows, youth workshops, and support The Center for the Arts and our community.

Prizes for the most studios visited!

Have the artist at each studio you visit mark off their listing in the guide.
Visit 5 or more studios: entered to win a $25 gift certificate for a Center for the Arts show.
Visit 10 or more studios: entered to win a $50 gift certificate for a Center for the Arts show.
The person who visits the most studios will win a grand prize.
To be eligible for all prizes, bring your marked Open Studios guide back to the Center during business hours: Monday-Saturday, Noon-5:00pm, by Oct. 31.


Start your tour at The Center for the Arts
Artist Reception is Thursday, October 6, 6:00 to 9:00PM
Preview Exhibit October 2 – 18


Candy Ekstrom 1 candyekstrom.com

Carin Brooks 1 www.artstudio920.com

Dori Greenbaum 1 www.dorigreenbaum.com

Jay Gordin 1 www.JayBearKnives.com

Jonathan Lyerly 1 www.jonathanlyerlyphotography.com

Katie Wolff 1 www.KatieWolffStudio.com

Martha Jones 1 www.greenmosaics.com

Rosemary Stokes 1

Karel Hendee 1 www.karelhendee.com

Adrian Hyman 2 www.arhphoto.com

Tamara Unger 2

Len Moles 3 lenmolesartist.com

Chantell Goldthwaite 4 https://www.facebook.com/wondrousobjectstudio/

Valerie Messervy Birkhoff 5 valsworth.com

Deb Foxen 5

Brett Schreiber 6

Dugan Essick 7 Essickwoodworkingschool.com

Mindy Oberne 8 bagglady.com

Caroline Courtright 9

Della Heywood 9 dellaheywood.com

Chic Lotz 10 ChicLotzCeramics.com

David King 11 DavidKingCollage.com

Rebecca Bleau 12 www.rebeccableau.com

Kathryn Wronski 13 www.kwronski.com

Michael Larson 13 ArtsAria.com

Suzanne Himmler 13 www.riverwomandesign.com

Thomas Haddy 13

Virginia Ray 14 www.virginiaray.net

Linda Galusha 15 lindagalusha.com

Jude Bischoff 16 www.judebischoff.com

Marylou Falstreau 17 www.mfalstreau.com

Art Works 18

Neighborhood Center of The Arts 19 neighborhoodcenterofthearts.org

Spencer McClay 19

Tim Wilson 20

Curious Forge 21 www.thecuriousforge.org

Nathaniel Wheaton & Samantha Veitch 22 www.whitedragontrails.wordpress.com

Tony Machado 23 tonymachadoART.com

David McKay 24 www.photographybydavidwong.com

Jan Pellizzer 25

ASiF 26 asifstudios.com

Denise Wey 26 www.denisewey.com

Eileen Blodgett Fine Art 26 www.eileenblodgett.com

Jill Mahanna 26 www.jillmahanna.com

Mark Wilcox 26 markwilcoxart.com

Encaustic Artists Guild of Nevada County 26

Ron Kenedi 27 www.ronkenediart.com

John Bridge 28

Katy Hight 28

Kris Johnson 29 designsinfiber.com

Lucy Galbraith 30 WWW.VisionsMultimediaGroup.com

Leon Fletcher 30 WWW.VisionsMultimediaGroup.com

Lil McGill 31 www.lilmcgill.com

Delo Rio 32

David McKay 33 www.davidmckayphotography.com

Kitkitdizzi 34 kitkitdizzi.com

Alexander Gallery 35

Bill Juhl 35 www.billjuhl.com

LeeAnn Brook 36 www.leeannbrookfineart.com

Ron Kenedi 37 www.jermynstudios.com

JudiRobison (Gunkel) 38

Juliette Morris Williams 39 juliettemorriswilliams.com

Thomas Devine 40

Alex Henderson 41 miriammorris.com

Miriam Morris 41 miriammorris.com

Martin Arkenstone 42 www.martinarkenstone.com

Susan Lobb- Porter 43 http://www.slporter.com

Liz Collins 44 www.lizcollinsart.com

Betsy Lombard 45 www.betsylombard.com

Catherine Enderline Allen 45

Nadine Enderlin 46

Antje Dormeyer 47 www.antjedormeyer.com

Gail Lipson 47 www.gaillipsonphotography.com

Jane Markham 47 www.mountainexotics.com

See Art being made!

Many of the participating artists are working in their studios during the tour so you can see first hand their art-making process. Here is a sample of what some of the artists have lined up for the event:
Nevada City Area Artists Live Demos + More
29 KRIS JOHNSON – silk dyeing techniques
35 BILL JUHL – wood turning
36 LEEANN BROOK FINE ART – working gallery and painting studio
39 JULIETTE MORRIS WILLIAMS – painting
40 THOMAS DEVINE – painting
41 MIRIAM MORRIS – sculpture
42 MARTIN ARKENSTONE – stone carving
43 SUSAN LOBB PORTER – painting using layers
47 ANTJE DORMEYER – stone setting and construction of rings

 

Grass Valley Area Artists Live Demos + More  
1 JAY GORDIN – knifemaking shop tours, sheath making
1 CARIN BROOKS – gourd carving
1 KAREL HENDEE – silk painting & dyeing techniques
1 ROSEMARY STOKES – jewelry making
1 DORI GREENBAUM – painting
6 BRETT SCHREIBER – burlwood finishing
8 MINDY OBERNE – Antarctica video/ photography project
9 CAROLINE COURTRIGHT – painting
9 DELLA HEYWOOD – watercolor & mixed media techniques
10 CHIC LOTZ – pottery throwing
12 REBECCA BLEAU – screenprinting
13 SUZANNE HIMMLER – fusing and enameling of fine silver
13 KATHRYN WRONSKI – painting of pet portraits
16 JUDE BISCHOFF – painting
17 MARYLOU FALSTREAU – acrylic & mixed media painting
22 BARROCULT – ceramics

More to do!

Encounter Nature – Fall Colors Trek at Hirschman’s Pond
SUNDAY, OCTOBER 9 & 16
10AM free | great for all ages
Join Bear Yuba Land Trust on this beginner level walk – just .8 miles round trip to the Hirschman Pond – a remnant from gold mining history. Or do the whole 5-mile lasso-shaped loop. Meet at the trailhead, 115 Cement Hill Rd, Nevada City.
More info: bylt.org

Out on the Town – Grass Valley Downtown
Stroll, Shop, Sip & Dine in Beautiful Downtown Grass Valley!
Situated in the beautiful Sierra Foothills, Grass Valley is surrounded by streams,lakes, rivers and majestic forests. We invite you to discover all the great things we have to offer!

More info: downtowngrassvalley.com

Holiday Shopping  – Nevada City Winter Craft Fair
SUN, DECEMBER 11 10am – 6pm
Miners Foundry, 325 Spring St. Downtown Nevada City
Over sixty of the local region’s top Etsy vendors, ar tisans, designers, DIY crafters! Featuring unique, handmade, original and repurposed art, clothing, accessories, jewelry, and housewares.

More info: minersfoundry.org

Earlier Event: October 8
Earth’s Treasures Gem & Mineral Show
Later Event: October 8
Greg Loiacono of The Mother Hips